Teams

Teams are groups of members who collaborate on projects. By configuring a team, a development team can work together on a project — that means shared knowledge for up-to-date status and issue management.

You can create a team and invite your teammates to join. Also, you can configure roles of team members in accordance with your team's structure.

Creating a team

You can create a team to collaborate with groups of people.

  1. In the Team combo box at the top, click Create Team.
    Create team
  2. When a dialog is opened, type the name for your team. Note that the team name only contains alphanumeric characters, underscores or hyphens.
    Create team: Type name
  3. Click Create Team.

Switching a team

If you own or are a member of multiple teams, you'll need to jump between teams. To switch between teams, just click the team name them in the Team combo box at the top.

Switch team

Managing team members

The team owners are able to manage all the members in the team while team members will only see the members.

In the team's settings page, you can see all the members in the team and occupied seats on the Member tab.

  • Role

    You can change a member's role. Just use the drop-down menu and click the role to change. For more information, see roles.

  • Status

    • Accepted: A member who accepted the invitation
    • Invited: A member whose invitation is pending
    • Declined: A member who declined the invitation
Manage members

Inviting users to join your team

You can invite any GitHub users to become a member of your team.

Note
  • Only team owners can invite users to join a team. For more information, see roles.
  • If your team does not have available seats, you cannot invite a new member. We propose you upgrade your plan to add seats.
  1. In the dashboard, click in the right side of team name to open the team's settings page.
  2. Click Invite Member on the Member tab.
  3. A new popup is displayed.
  4. Type the email address of the person to invite and click Add. You can choose a role for the user, then click Invite.
  5. The invited person will receive an email invitation and/or see a notification on the site. They will need to accept the invitation to become a member of the team.
Invite members

Cancelling an invitation to join your team

Team owners can cancel an invitation to join your team any time before the user accepts.

To cancel an invitation:

  1. In the team's settings page, navigate to the Member tab.
  2. In the list of members, decide who to cancel an invitation from among the members whose status is 'Invited'.
  3. Click Remove for the member you want to cancel an invitation.
  4. Click OK in the confirmation popup.

When the invited user accepts after cancelled invitation, the user will show an error page.

Accepting or declining an invitation from a team

You might receive an invitation to join a team. You can accept or decline the invitation. To do this, you complete either.

  • Email: An invitation to join a team is sent to the email address. When you receive an invitation email, click the link in the email invitation.
  • Notification: When you navigate to the dashboard, you can see a notification bell next to your avatar. Click the bell so you can see your invitation to join a team. Choose Accept or Decline.
    Notification: Invitation

Removing a member from your team

When members of your team no longer need to access to any team projects, team owners can remove them from the team.

To remove a member from the team:

  1. In the team's settings page, navigate to the Member tab.
  2. In the list of members, click Remove for the member you want to remove.
  3. Click OK in the confirmation popup.

When you remove users from the team, the paid seats does not automatically downgrade. To downgrade to pay for fewer seats, see here.

Also if your team members delete DeepScan account, occupied seats of the team will decrease also.

Understanding roles

There are two different roles in a team:

  • Owner

    The person who manages the team. Owners have full access to the team including its settings.

  • Member

    The person who is a member of the team. Members can collaborate on projects and have limited access to the team's settings.

ActionOwnerMember 
Team
Invite Member O X  
View Members O O  
Manage Members O X Team owners can remove members from the team and set a role of team members
Leave Team O O When you are the sole owner of the team, you cannot leave.
Delete Team O X  
Manage Plan O X  
Project
Create Project O X  
Configure Project O X  
Analyze Project O X Project is first analyzed when it's created.
Team owners can analyze the project manually in the project's settings and analyze new branch.
Delete Project O X  
Share Project O O  
Change Issue Status O O  

Managing team's settings

General

You can see basic information for team. Team owners can set a billing email and delete a team.

Leaving a team

You can leave your team when you no longer collaborate.

To leave the team:

  1. In the dashboard, click in the right side of team name to open the team's settings page.
  2. Click Leave Team on the General tab.
  3. Click OK in the confirmation popup.

But the sole owner of the team cannot leave because at least one owner should take charge of the team.

Leaving a team

Member

You can see members in the team. Team owners can invite members, remove members, and set a role for members.

Plan

You can manage your subscription for the team.

  • Summary

    You can see your plan, available seats, and payment.

  • Change Plan

    You can change your team seats and switch your billing cycle.

  • Payment history

    You can see payment history and download the PDF receipt. To download the receipt, click Download Receipt for the payment.

Payment History

Deleting a team

Team owners can delete teams at any time from the team's settings page.

Note
  • We will immediately and irreversibly delete all related service data.
  • When your team is on a paid plan, it will not be refunded and returned.

To delete a team:

  1. In the dashboard, click in the right side of team name to open the team's settings page.
  2. Click Delete Team on the General tab.
  3. Click OK in the confirmation popup.